Coach Howell.png

Coach Metcalf, Coach Lyke and Coach Howell (left to right).

About Us

Clyde Metcalf, Head Coach

Coach Metcalf has led the Sarasota High School baseball program since 1982 (39 years) and has elevated it to a level where it truly ranks among the nation's elite teams. The Sailors won national championships in 1989 and 1994 and Coach Metcalf was named by various entities as the 'National Coach of the Year' after both of those seasons.

The 2021 Sailors certainly have a rich tradition to uphold. Eight former Sarasota High players became first-round picks in the MLB draft, including former Atlanta Braves right-hander Casey Kelly, the 30th overall pick of the Boston Red Sox in 2008 and former Sailor Ian Desmond was a third-round pick of the Montreal Expos in 2004 (now the starting first baseman for the Colorado Rockies).


"We've been very fortunate to have had some great players come through our program," Metcalf said. "What we've tried to do is build a program that's consistent in what we do, and we've tried to progress with the times and make changes that we've felt are necessary, but our biggest thing is to put out a quality product every year."


As the winner of eight Florida High School State championships -- including six under Coach Metcalf in 1987, '89, '93, '94, '96 and 2007, Sarasota High receives a tremendous amount of support from several of their former players which helps create a good community program.

Varsity Head Coach
Clyde Metcalf

Varsity Assistant Coaches
Mark Aschenbrenner

Steve Hassett
Ted Lyke

Allen Morlock
Tom Scarpinato
Mark Sobolewski

Jr Varsity Head Coach
Shane Ahles

Jr Varsity Assistant Coaches
Dean Berkey
Mike Krusinski

Mike Krusinski, Jr.
Strength & Conditioning Coach (JV & Varsity)
Jackie Brown​

White Image.png

Coach Metcalf Awards

(records kept since 1982)

ABCA HS Division 1

Coach of the Year

American Baseball Coaches Association 2015

National Prep

Coach of the Year

USA Today, 1989

Coach of the Year

Tampa Tribune, 1989


Area Coach of the Year

Sarasota Herald Tribune

2010, 2005, 2002, 2000

1996, 1995, 1994, 1993

1989, 1988, 1987, 1984


Coach of the Year

Florida Diamond Club

2014, 1989, 1987


Allstar Coach

FACA South

2004, 1991, 1985


District Coach of the Year

American Baseball

Coaches Association

1993, 1989, 1987


Finalist for

National Coach of the Year

American Baseball

Coaches Association

1993, 1989, 1987


Baseball Coach of the Year

Florida Athletic Coaches


1994, 1993


Coach of the Year

USA Today, 1994

Coach of the Year

National High School

Coaches Association

2015, 1994

Lifetime Member

Florida Athletic Coaches

Association, 2004

Sportsman of the Year

SASA, 2005

Coach of the Year

Class 6A, 2006

Regional Coach of the Year

Baseball America, 2006

Regional Coach of the Year

ABCA, 2007

Regional Coach of the Year

NFHS, 2007

Coach of the Year

HTPreps, 2014